Apr 032014

I won’t be surprised if you’re perplexed by the name of this two-man Austrian band — Harakiri For the Sky. It’s cryptic and subject to different interpretations. I also won’t be surprised if you can’t guess, from their name, the nature of the music they make — and in fact it’s hard to pin down with a convenient label. But the music is very much worth hearing, and we’re giving you the chance to discover it for yourself via our premiere of a song named “Burning From Both Ends” that will appear on their forthcoming second album, Aokigahara.

The lilting, chiming guitar introduction to the song provides no preparation for the galvanizing storm that soon breaks. The music of songwriter/instrumentalist M.S. thunders and roars, but dramatic melodies flood the music, as vocalist J.J. (and guest vocalist Torsten of Agrypnie) rage with impassioned, lung-bursting conviction. As heavy as the music is, it swells with emotion and sweeps with windswept power, and the song will get stuck in your head. It’s a melding of black metal and post-rock that’s damned appealing.


Aokigahara will be released by the Art of Propaganda label on April 21 and can be ordered in digipack or vinyl formats here. It includes guest vocals by a number of black metal musicians — and a cover of a Tears For Fears song. A detailed tracklist with the names of the guests is as follows:

Detailed tracklist:
1. My Bones To The Sea
2. Jhator*
3. Homecoming Denied
4. 69 Dead Birds For Utoya**
5. Parting
6. Burning From Both Ends***
7. Panoptycon****
8. Nailgarden
9. Gallows (Give’ Em Rope)
10. Mad World (bonus track for vinyl version)*****

* Guest vocals by Seuche (Fäulnis)
** Guest vocals by Cristiano (Whiskey Ritual)
*** Guest vocals by Torsten (Agrypnie)
**** Guest Vocals by Eklatanz (Heretoir)
***** Cover song of Tears Of Fears


Last month Art of Propaganda released video for the song “My Bones To the Sea”, and you can watch and hear that one below “Burning From Both Ends” — which we present now.




  1. Utmu says:

    I just re-discovered this band yesterday. Great timing!

  2. Booker says:

    Interesting stuff indeed. I admit I first decided to listen based on the intriguing band name, which I guess is kudos to them for picking a band name that draws you in, and the music did not disappoint.

  3. djneibarger says:

    i really like “Burning From Both Ends”, great song!

  4. Gipson says:

    This is really excellent stuff. A happy find to end my day.

  5. […] Austrian black metal/post-rockers HARAKIRI FOR THE SKY premiere the new track “Burning From Both Ends” at heavily traficked web-portal NoCleanSinging.com. The track hails from the band’s forthcoming second album, Aokigahara, set for international release on April 21st via ART OF PROPAGANDA. Hailing from Vienna, HARAKIRI FOR THE SKY was formed by M.S. In December 2011 with the idea to perform black metal that’s rough and melodic at the same time. M.S. wrote and recorded a couple of songs and asked his friend J.J. for lyrical input. That’s when J.J. joined the project as vocalist and HARAKIRI FOR THE SKY was born. During the spring of 2012, the band recorded their self-titled debut album, which was released via ART OF PROPAGANDA in October 2012. At the end of 2012 and into the following year, the band already played a handful of shows with bands like Fäulnis, Heretoir, and Whiskey Ritual which led them to Austria, Germany, and Italy. During the autumn and winter of 2013, HARAKIRI FOR THE SKY recorded their second album, Aokigahara. As a tasty tidbit, Aokigahara contains guest vocals from other noteworthy black metal musicians, such Torsten (Agrypnie), Eklatanz (Heretoir), Seuche (Fäulnis), and Cristiano (Whiskey Ritual). A newly revealed track, “Burning From Both Ends” features vocals by Agrypnie’s Torsten, and can be heard exclusively HERE. […]

  6. Leperkahn says:

    That hit my post-y epic metal g-spot.

  7. […] Harakiri For The Sky Aokigahara (Art of Propaganda) On a playlist with: Karg, Psychonaut 4, Infinitas Listen “Burning From Both Ends” and “Homecoming, Denied” (here) […]

  8. MartynLK says:

    Discovered this album on Bandcamp earlier and was pleasantly surprised! Great work.

  9. […] in 2014 we had the pleasure of premiering a song from the band’s last album, Aokigahara. That was my introduction to this two-man […]

Leave a Reply



© 2009-2017 NO CLEAN SINGING Banner design by Dan Dubois, background design by groverXIII. Suffusion WordPress theme by Sayontan Sinha