Oct 122016



In December of every year our putrid site rolls out a list of the year’s “most infectious” extreme metal songs, as chosen through our own infallible judgment. This song we’re about to bring you by the Norwegian band Slegest has vaulted onto the list like Superman leaping a tall building in a single bound.

The name of the song is “Wolf” and it appears on Slegest’s second album Vidsyn, which is being released by Dark Essence Records.




Sometimes, it really doesn’t take anything more than a few genius riffs to make a great song — and the ones in “Wolf” are compulsive as hell. But the character of the song also depends on the thumping, groove-focused drum rhythm, the slightly deranged quality of the flickering lead guitar, and the vicious, serrated, sharp-edged, bile-drenched vocals.

This is Slegest’s second album, following 2013’s Løyndom. Slegest began as the solo project of former Vreid guitarist Ese, and he seems to just get stronger and stronger as a songwriter. “Wolf” is a hell of a herald for the new album, which we’re now even more anxious to hear in full.


Vidsyn was recorded in Conclave & Earshot Studio and Systrond Studio with Bjørnar E. Nilsen (Vulture Industries) and frontman Ese as producers. Nilsen mixed the album, and it was mastered by Herbrand Larsen (Enslaved). It also features Grutle Kjellson (Enslaved) on the track “Som i eit endelikt”. Here’s the track list:

1. I fortida sitt lys
2. Som i eit endelikt
3. Du
4. komfortabelt nommen midtvekes
5. Wolf
6. The Reanimator
7. Inn i uvissao
8. Tenn den gamle varde

Order here:

Slegest Europe webshop:
Slegest Bandcamp:


 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.