Mar 162012

Normally, we don’t post a news alert simply because a band has added a new drummer to their line-up or releases a new press photo. But this is Ne Obliviscaris, and their new album has been on my personal “highly anticipated” list since I first found out it had been completed last October.

We originally featured this unsigned Melbourne, Australia band with the mouthful of a name way back in March 2010, focusing on a 2007 demo called The Aurora Veil. The new album is called Portal of I — a 7-track behemoth with a total run-time of more than 1 hour 11 minutes, and it appears from a press release we got this morning that the band is finally on the verge of providing an album release date, plus tour info.

Also, NeO have now found a permanent replacement for their former drummer, Dan Presland, who was involved in recording both the Aurora Veil demo and the forthcoming Portal Of I album. The new hitter is Nelson Barnes, who is also the drummer for Brisbane’s The Schoenberg Automaton — a very interesting band whose music we featured here last June.

Perhaps you still haven’t listened to the music of Ne Obliviscaris, despite the fact that we’ve streamed the first track to be released from Portal of I twice at NCS. Just in case, I’m gonna stream “And Plague Flowers the Kaleidoscope” a third time right after the jump, because pimping this band makes me happy. This song still floors me — it’s so unlike most other metal I hear. I wish I had more tracks to hear without having to wait any longer — but at least that day is finally drawing close.

By the way, the NeO line-up, as pictured above (from left to right) is: Benjamin Baret, Matt Klavins, Tim Charles, Xenoyr, Brendan ‘Cygnus’ Brown, and now Nelson Barnes.


NeO is on Facebook at this location.

  11 Responses to “NE OBLIVISCARIS: UPDATE”

  1. “One of these things is not like the others.”

  2. Whoo, an interview with Xenoyr done by a guest writer will be part of the first batch of articles going up on you-know-what when the time is ripe!

  3. Man, this new album cannot be ready soon enough. It’s been far too long.

  4. Finally, some news. But, still no news about the album release.
    Oh well. At least there’s the EP to keep us (somewhat) sated until the full-length comes out.

  5. I understand that the three tracks from The Autumn Veil have been remastered (re-recorded?) for Portal of I. And that’s cool, I guess. I look forward to hearing them. But it’s a little bit of a bummer that after this painful wait, the new album really only has four new songs, one of which we’ve already heard.

    That’s all assuming that what I’ve heard is correct. Can’t wait nonetheless.

    • I hadn’t heard that, but the track list of “Portal of I” does indeed include the 3 songs from “The Aurora Veil”:

      1. Tapestry of the Starless Abstract (12:01)
      2. Xenoflux (10:01)
      3. Of the Leper Butterflies (5:52)
      4. Forget Not (12:04)
      5. And Plague Flowers the Kaleidoscope (11:35)
      6. As Icicles Fall (9:24)
      7. Of Petrichor Weaves Black Noise (10:43)

      The songs from the EP are so good, plus the new songs add up to about 40 minutes of music. So, one way to think of it is that you’ll be getting an album-length group of new songs plus the EP (maybe re-recorded) as a bonus.

  6. Me, I don’t mind if Portal Of I has the songs from the EP; wasn’t it more like a demo than an actual release anyway?

    Nonetheless, I too have been waiting for this. Too long. Must. Have. Soon.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.