Jun 192013

As you may know, we don’t usually feature news items without music to hear, but this is Gorguts we’re talking about. When it comes to technical death metal, they occupy a place in rarified air, and I’ve been anxiously awaiting their new album since learning in February that they had signed with Season of Mist.

And today SoM released the album’s title — Colored Sands — and its release date: September 3rd in North America (and August 30 everywhere else), plus that very cool cover art you’re looking at.

It has been a long wait.  The band’s last album, From Wisdom To Hate, was released 12 years ago. But the new line-up holds tremendous promise: vocalist/guitarist Luc Lemay (of course), drummer John Longstreth (Dim MakOriginThe Red ChordSkinless, etc., etc.), bassist Colin Marston (Dysrhythmia,  IndricothereBehold… The ArctopusKrallice), and guitarist Kevin Hufnagel (DysrhythmiaWhile Heaven Wept).

Here’s the track list, which was also released today:

1. Le toit du monde
2. An Ocean of Wisdom
3. Forgotten Arrows
4. Colored Sands
5. The Battle of Chamdo
6. Enemies of Compassion
7. Ember’s Voice
8. Absconders
9. Reduced to Silence

Colored Sands will be available as a CD Digipack and LP (available in Black vinyl, Yellow in Red vinyl limited to 150 copies, and Clear vinyl limited to 350 copies) at the Season of Mist E-Shop.

Bring. It. On.


  1. Hopefully Gorguts will show Morbid Angel how to make a ‘real,’ comeback! Fuck, I’ll be lynched if we have another ‘Illud Divinum Insanus!!!!!!’

    • Perish that blasphemous thought! There’s no way Gorguts will disappoint. Simply can’t and won’t happen. They will apparently be releasing a new single soon, so we’ll shortly find out for sure.

  2. It’s funny how we’ve waited 12 years but now September seems soooooo far away 🙂

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.