Jul 032015

photo by Eckardt Kasselman

The remarkable Wildernessking from Cape Town, South Africa, have today announced that their eagerly awaited second album, Mystical Future, will be released in November 2015 by Germany’s Sick Man Getting Sick Records, whose roster of releases has included works by Alda and Sun Worship, among many others.

Three years have passed since Wildernessking burst upon the global metal scene with their critically praised debut album The Writing of Gods In the Sand. The band have not been idle since then, releasing two well-received EPs – …And the Night Swept Us Away (2012) and The Devil Within (2014) – as well as tracks for split releases in 2014 and early 2015. But based on some advance listening we’ve been lucky to experience, Mystical Future represents their most accomplished and powerful music yet.

More cohesive, more dynamic in its scope, and more personal in its lyrical focus, the album represents a significant step ahead for a band who have already made a big impact in a short space of time.

Though Wildernessking’s already demonstrated talent for writing sweeping, impassioned, and memorable melodies is still very much in evidence, what we’ve heard from Mystical Future is even more dark, intense, and electrifying. The music combines the harrowing ferocity of black metal and searing, acidic vocals with vibrant, multi-textured melodies that will send listeners on a dramatic journey through shifting moods they won’t soon forget.

It’s an album that’s ambitious in its conception and truly impressive in its execution, and it will undoubtedly further elevate Wildernessking’s reputation as a band to watch very closely.

As noted, Mystical Future will be released in November 2015 by Sick Man Getting Sick Records on vinyl, and on cassette by Grimoire Cassette Cvlture and Monotonstudio Records. The album was mixed and mastered by Jack Shirley (Botanist, Deafheaven, Bosse-De-Nage) in California, and recorded with Daniel Thackwray in Cape Town, South Africa. The track list is as follows:

White Horses [9:37]
I Will Go To Your Tomb [6:07]
To Transcend [6:00]
With Arms Like Wands [8:20]
If You Leave [13:02]

Further information about Mystical Future, artworks, as well as the first single, will be released in September.



  1. One of my most anticipated albums of the year, no question. And not just because I seem to have misplaced my copy of The Writing of Gods…

  2. My wallet just can’t catch a break. Poor thing.

  3. Awesome, the “Devil Within” EP was fantastic 🙂

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.