Mar 242017


The monstrous cover art of the maestro Paolo Girardi is what first put Beyond This World’s Illusion on our radar screen, and the music from the album has kept it there, moving quickly in an upward trajectory. We’ve previously written about two songs from this new album by The Sarcophagus and now we can bring you the premiere of a third one, “Dymadiel“, in advance of the album’s April 4 release by Satanath Records and a consortium of other international labels.

The origins of The Sarcophagus can be traced to 1996 — their first demo was released in 1997 — making them one of Turkey’s earliest black metal bands. Their discography lists two releases by Osmose Productions that featured the participation of Shining’s Niklas Kvarforth, including the band’s debut album Towards The Eternal Chaos. Seven years have passed since that full-length debut, and Kvarforth’s role is now capably filled by vocalist Mørkbeast from the Russian black metal band Todestriebe.



The song we bring you today is as ever-changing as the tracks we’ve previously featured, bringing to mind the shadows of racing clouds passing over the earth, with glimpses of light in the darkness. The drum rhythms and tempos are in constant flux, delivering strafing runs of blast-beats, bursts of hammering, rocking back-beats, slow lumbering grimness, and more. The melodic currents of the song change as well — swirling and slashing, brooding and ominous, vibrant and triumphant — but with the ever-present intensity of second-wave black metal, enhanced by the caustic violence of the vocals.


Beyond This World’s Illusion will be jointly released on April 4 by Satanath Records (Russia), Death Portal Studio (USA), Fila Sophiae (Sweden), and Sphera Noctis Rec (Brazil). You can order it here:

Below you will find the track list, other useful links, and streams of all three songs from the album that are now available — including our premiere of “Dymadiel“.

01. Reign Of Chaos
02. Ain Sof
03. Dymadiel
04. The Profanity Rites
05. Sapremia Of Earthly Creatures
06. Triumphant Divine Terror
07. Armoured Death
08. Flaming Key To Divine Wisdom
09. Apocalyptic Beast
Length – 45:51






  1. I have a seriously hard time grasping how fast Paolo Girardi can practically shit these marvelous artworks out at such a high rate. There is a reason why he is top dog in cover arts right now.

    Oh, and the music that lies within is always killer as well.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.