Jan 112018


A medical dictionary tells us that a cardiectomy is an excision of the heart, while “malapropos” refers to something that’s untimely or inappropriate. And so now perhaps you have a bit of introductory insight into the ripping new song from Boston’s Scaphism that we’re premiering in this post.

Malapropos Cardiectomy” is one of eight tracks on Unutterable Horrors, the new Scaphism album that’s headed our way with an imminent January 12 release via Horror Pain Gore Death Productions. It’s the band’s first album since their 2012 full-length debut, Festering Human Remains, and it’s apparent that during this five-year interval between releases Scaphism have become, if anything, even nastier and more savagely adept at their chosen form of death metal butchery.



Malapropos Cardiectomy” provides a fine example of the horrors that the new album holds in store. It’s a turbocharged slasher, feral and fierce right from the start. Powered by gripping drum work, with rhythms that pummel, rumble, and scamper, and fueled by hooky riffs that jolt, swarm, and squeal, the song comes straight for the jugular, and this beast is made even nastier by the vocal array of rabid snarls, gravelly growls, and horrid roars. A very tasty piece of barbarity and brutalism indeed.


Get ready for Unutterable Horrors on January 12. Check the links below for pre-order info.

1. Gruesome Unmentionables And Unutterable Horrors
2. Malapropos Cardiectomy
3. Mitte Eos Ad Infernos
4. Vaults Of Pestilence
5. Trepanate The Undesired
6. The Feaster From The Stars
7. Excoriated And Excarnated
8. Hypovolemic Purification




 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.