Jun 052010

In their heyday, Voivod put out some strikingly original music and influenced a shit-ton of other bands. Eric Forrest (whose nickname is E-Force) was the bassist and vocalist for the band from about 1994 to 2001, and recorded two albums with them (Negatron and Phobos).

E-Force is also the name of a band that Forrest started a few years after his stint with Voivod ended. Season of Mist released the E-Force debut, Evil Forces, in 2003. Almost five years passed before the second album was released (Modified Poison on France’s Thundering Records).

Earlier this week we saw a news release that Forrest was reviving E-Force with a drummer named Krof and lead guitarist Jerome Point (pictured above), that the band would be playing live shows again for the first time in 5 years, and that they would be entering the studio in August to record a new album.

We’d never listened to E-Force before reading that release, and probably wouldn’t have paid a lot of attention to it — except for what it said about the name of the new album and about the concept behind it. And (drumroll, please) the album will be called Curse of the Cunt.  (more after the jump, including some E-Force music . . .) Continue reading »