Apr 292015


Here’s a bit of fairly hot-off-the-press news from Canada’s Kataklysm:  First, they’ve announced that their twelfth studio album Of Ghosts and Gods will be released on July 31 (via Nuclear Blast Records).

Second, as you can see, they’ve disclosed the cover art, which was created by an artist called artist Surtsey. I like it. (According to the band, the background shows an ancient incantation written in Aramaic.)

And third, they’ve announced that there will be music videos created for every one of the album’s ten songs, with each video crafted to reflect the concept behind the music.

As you’ll see in the following video announcement, the videos will be rolled out, one per day, beginning at the end of July and leading up to the album’s release date.

The video also includes a snipper of music from the album’s third track, “Thy Serpent’s Tongue” — not enough to allow any kind of judgment’s about the album, of course. We can only hope it will be a strong one. Here’s the track list, followed by the video:

01. Breaching The Asylum
02. The Black Sheep
03. Thy Serpents Tongue
04. Soul Destroyer
05. Vindication
06. Marching Through Graveyards
07. Shattered
08. Hate Spirit
09. Carrying Crosses
10. The World Is A Dying Insect

www.kataklysm.ca | www.facebook.com/kataklysm | www.nuclearblast.de/kataklysm



  1. This sounds like it’s going to be awesome! their video for “Elevate” was really cool, i hope the new videos are similar 🙂

  2. God, I hate that artwork.

    Well, specifically, one piece of the artwork… the bird.

    Remove the bird and I’d probably love it, but it just sticks out of the overall image like a sore thumb (and, yes, I know birds don’t have thumbs.. take that “evolution”…).

    Seriously though… it just draws the eye in a really bad way. It looks either like he has a very deformed bird stood right behind him, or a bird’s head growing out of his left shoulder instead of a wing. It just ruins the composition for me.

    Looking forward to the album though!

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.