Sep 242015

Deformatory - Malediction - Cover Art by Jon Zig


According to the first verse of the Book of Genesis, when God created the earth, it “was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep”. He said, “Let there be light”, but the darkness came first; in the words of the band Deformatory, “it was already alive, forever and eternal”. God divided the Light from the Darkness on the first day, but “that division has eroded”.

And that idea became the seed of Malediction, the second record by this band from Ottawa, Ontario, and the first in a series of concept albums revolving around an entity named Saväel, the creator of the Darkness. “In Malediction, the story follows the discovery of the sacred incantation text, his re-awakening, and the subsequent obliteration of the Light, the Heavens, and all remnants of humanity.”

Today we bring you the premiere of “Infernal Gateway”, the album’s first track and the beginning of this story about the rebirth of a timeless evil.


Deformatory - Band Photo 2015 - Web Size


“Infernal Gateway” is something of a hybrid, uniting the traumatic impact of brutal death metal and the blazing speed and instrumental flash of technical death metal. When firing on all cylinders, the song is an obliterating, high-speed attack of swarming, darting, vibrating riffs and machine-gun drumming.

When the pace slows, the band add dismal melodic accents that heighten the sense of implacable evil, made even more palpable by the song’s gruesome vocals. And, at the risk of spoiling something that might make you jump out of your shoes when it happens, the song ends with an absolutely incinerating guitar solo.


Malediction will be released in December 2015 by CDN Records. The eye-catching cover art was created by Jon Zig, and this is the track list:

1. Infernal Gateway
2. Dimensions of Malevolence
3. Obsequium
4. Eviscerated Requiem
5. A Hideous Veneration
6. Apotheosis
7. Oracles of Perdition
8. Aphotic Existence

To pre-order the album, go HERE. And for further info, visit these pages:



  1. Nice! The music us just as badass as the album art! 🙂

  2. Holy. Fuck.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.