Feb 012016

bound to the depths cover art


Tormentium have been poisoning the Pacific Northwest for more than a decade, cascading Cascadia with their own preternatural darkness through a sequence of demos, splits with Infernus and Cult of Unholy Shadows, an EP (Cursed Beyond Flesh), and live assaults. On March 25, Exile Music(k) will bring us the band’s debut album Bound To the Depths, and today we bring you the premiere of a song from the album named “Fallen (In Defiance)“.

The band have explained that Bound To The Depths “is a large body of work with a loose subjective theme: where the ‘depths’ represents something different in each piece… your inner demons, desires, convictions, and damnations. The lyrics are mainly story-like narratives, reflecting these themes through characters, and ultimately reflecting metaphorically through the listener. The album as a whole flows like a story as well, guiding the listener through the aether of darkness to events of rage, insanity, and sacrifice.”




With respect to the song you’re about to hear, Tormentium tell us that “‘Fallen (In Defiance)’ is a narrative of the fall of The Adversary, as a symbol of rebellion, being bound to your convictions, and ultimately a declaration of war.”

An entrancing guitar instrumental begins the song — glimmers of light that soon fall before a storm of thundering drums and waves of grim riffage. With tyrannical howls and impassioned cries rising above the deluge and bounding bass notes bubbling to the surface, the music soon generates an aura that fulfills the song’s title — both gloomy and warlike, sorrowful and vibrantly rebellious. It’s the kind of song whose melody casts a spell while at the same time unleashing vengeful wrath.




Exile Music(k) will release Bound To the Depths on cassette tape limited to 100 hand-numbered copies, as well as digitally. Further formats will be forthcoming. The album’s track list is as follows:

1: Bound to the Depths
2: Black Womb
3: Melody Vitriol
4: Fallen (In Defiance)
5: Requiem Within
6: Coils 1: Void of Muse
7: Coils 2: Plunging Vast Unknown
8: Coils 3: Behind the Skin

A release show is scheduled on March 25 in Eugene, OR, at Old Nick’s, featuring In the Name of God, Daemoniis ad Noctum, and Ninth Moon Black.





  1. Digging the infernal air this track conjures. Excited to hear more from this record.

  2. Now that’s what I call music! Now lend me your knife so that I can carve my way out of this dense infernal air before I suffocate.

  3. Sweet, great track! 🙂

  4. Really solid. I love it when a song makes an instant impact.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.