Jul 262017


(Austin Weber introduces our premiere of a guitar playthrough video for a new song by the star-studded Canadian group Conflux Collective.)

Last year an interesting new death metal project from guitarist Chase Fraser (Continuum, Scour, ex-Son of Aurelius, ex-Decrepit Birth, ex-Animosity) was launched. Called Conflux Collective, the group consists of an array of the best death metal musicians in Canada, including bassist Derek Engemann (Cattle Decapitation, Scour).

The group’s three song EP from 2016, The Inception, which I put on my year-end list at NCS for good reason, featured a different well known Canadian death metal vocalist on each song, utilizing the talents of Cryptopsy vocalist Matt McGachy, Beneath The Massacre vocalist Elliot Desgagnés, and Coma Cluster Void, Akurion, and ex-Cryptopsy vocalist Mike Disalvo.

In addition, the release also featured the talents of highly skilled drummer Tommy McKinnon (Akurion,ex-Neuraxis) on all three songs, plus contributions from bassist Hugo Doyon-Karout (Equipoise, Beyond Creation, Brought By Pain) and ex-Aborted guitarist Eran Segal. To say the talent level on The Inception was stacked is an understatement.

It looks like Chase has been hard at work writing new material, and given how consistently great the music he writes is, I’m pretty excited for more Conflux Collective songs. In order to help spread the word about it, we’re launching a guitar playthrough for one of the upcoming unreleased songs, “Temporal Perceptions”.

Compared to the material found on The Inception, this song seems more pensive and atmospheric than the savage and shred-heavy material from last yea, though I’m sure there’ll be plenty of that on the album in the end. The song also features a sick solo from ex-Aborted guitarist Eran Segal.

And now, a short message from Conflux Collective about the new material:

“We’ve been hard at work recording our upcoming full length album titled Sentinels and have most of the drums and guitar rhythms recorded. Look for more info as well as album artwork and track listing coming soon.”




 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.