Nov 112018


The Ungodly Lamentations is the second album from the Philippine death metal band Comatose, who first came together in 2003 in Cebu City. Their debut album, The Ultimate Revenge, was originally recorded in 2011 and later released in 2015 by Satanath Records and Darzamadicus Records, a year that also saw the release of the band’s Thy Mighty Conquest demo.

This second album is the work of a new line-up in which (among other changes) founder LD “Bellz” Lee has become the vocalist as well as a guitarist, joined by guitarist Milojan Mondejar, bassist Surge Inso (Black Mantra) and drummer Kyndall Cesar (Astarus).

And now that we have those details out of the way, let’s get murdered by “Forever Reign Supreme”.



Ominous, occult chanting and the blood-freezing tones of a demonic voice lead to pummeling drums and a jabbing riff, and then the song really takes off. The music is both diabolically frenzied and lethally vicious, both cold-blooded and wild. That same combination of feral bloodlust and pre-meditated cruelty comes through in the bestial, howling vocals. The song’s hellish ferocity is electrifying, and the bursts of guitar soloing, which become a wailing, spiraling, shrieking extravaganza, have a lot to do with that.

The odds are high that fans of old school death metal in the vein of Deicide, Morbid Angel, Sinister, Hypocrisy, Vader, and Cancer will make an immediate connection to the music. The album will be jointly released on November 24 by Satanath Records (Russia), Grinder Cirujano Records (Argentina), and Rebirth The Metal Productions (Germany) in a jewel-case CD edition.

In addition to “Forever Reign Supreme“, we’re also finishing a stream of “Ancient Prophecies of Doom” (which is free to download at Bandcamp).



01. Intro: The Incantation
02. Cursed Messiah
03. Ancient Prophecies Of Doom
04. Forever Reign Supreme
05. The Beast Of Revelation
06. Overshadowed By Hellfire
07. Thy Mighty Conquest
08. Comatose
Length – 28:15




  1. Who mixed this? Guitars are buried, to begin with, and the vocal too prominent. To be honest, and I dont mean to be rude, but the tracks sound quite weak. Solo’s dont seem to flow, nor do the riffs. I dont really recognized the bands named in comparison, to be honest.

    Anyway, my two cents. Luckily, we dont have to agree on what constitutes enjoyable music.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.