Sep 092021


By their own choice the black metal band Dødsdrift are a mysterious collective, one of those groups who prefer to let their music do most of the speaking. All we know is that that they were founded in 2018 in a northern area of Germany that borders the Baltic Sea, and that the 10 tracks on their new album Ødnis were inspired by isolation, loss, war, and the forces of nature.

But of course the songs do speak for themselves, and they do so in tremendously powerful ways. The music has a visceral impact, and leaves no ambiguity about the intense emotions that fuel the compositions and their performances. Those of you who discovered the band’s 2019 debut album Weltenszission already know this, and more will discover it through Ødnis.

Dødsdrift have chosen to release only one single in advance of the new album’s October 15 release by Vendetta Records, and we’re privileged to bring it to you today through an official video that’s as arresting as the track. The song opens the album, and its name is “Fährde“.



The building sounds of rushing wind, or perhaps it is the swelling wail of spectres, announce the song, and a guitar rings like ethereal chimes. Those chiming tones return later, but before that happens the music creates immense waves of piercing melody flowing across furious drum blasting and vocals of scalding power that seem to embody both savage rage and wretched torment. The snare converts to a measured war march, but even then the double-bass fires in furious fusillades.

The rhythms pound the pulse, the riffing is ravaging, and the leads flicker like fire. All together these sensations seem to channel feverish despair. The effect is electrifying, but distressing. When the guitars chime again, as the tumult vanishes, the slow, ringing melody is entrancing and mystical.

The slow-motion video provides a wondrous but haunting accompaniment to this bleak and desperate music. Immense dark skies loom beyond a halo of black evergreens, lit by torches in the hands of a mysterious hooded figure. Vast waters spread in colors of grey and silver in the distance. The sun rises as the guitars ring. The visions are mesmerizing but daunting.



You’ll find the cover art for Ødnis below, along with pre-order links and a track list. Don’t sleep on this one — it’s going to make a deep and lasting impression on the soundscape of 2021 black metal.



01. Fährde
02. Schattenschafott
03. Ruß
04. Herbstluft
05. Laere
06. Der letzte Pfad
07. Moorbrand
08. Heimkehr
09. Adern des Abgrunds
10. Enthauptet

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.