Mar 092022


The Australian death metal band Beyond Mortal Dreams feeds from roots that extend back into the mid-90s, but with a discography whose dark flowering has been marked by fits and long silences. Following a pair of demos in the mid-2000s, they released a debut album (From Hell) in 2008, and then only a couple of short releases marked their path for the next 13+ years. But at last they have risen again with a second full-length named Abomination of the Flames that’s set for release by Lavadome Productions on April 12th.

Although the band hasn’t experienced the extent of line-up upheavals that are commonplace among other bands over such an extended interval, it’s inevitable that the passage of time has influenced the musicians — in their thinking about music, in their interweaving of influences, in their desires for what their music should become.

The result, as the Lavadome press materials describe it, is music that reveals an “eagerness to explore, destroy, and conquer in order to create”, “a grand tour of at times cinematic proportions” that is “bestial and brutal” but also “elaborate and intelligent”, and atmospheric as well as savage.

We predict you’ll remember those descriptions when you hear the song we’re premiering today — “Hell of Eternal Death“.

The song has the turbulence and destructive impact of a volcanic eruption, with drums maniacally battering, bass thundering, massive riffs maniacally writhing, and monstrous vocals roaring and howling from abyssal depths. The effect is immediately electrifying and massively plundering. The song soon reveals another signature of the band’s songcraft — a guitar solo that screams and wails in dire and demented fashion, enhancing the music’s hellishly supernatural aura.

The music’s bone-smashing, gut-churning, mind-mutilating intensity is relentless. The fast-paced grooves are pulverizing, and the layering of instrumentation is kaleidoscopically elaborate. Augmented by synths, the music reaches blazing heights of sheer spectacle, enveloping the senses in marvelous madness. It’s enough to leave a listener gasping, with eyes gaping wide:



Hell of Eternal Death” is accompanied by six other songs on the new album, assembling a grand total of seven “majestic hymns of desolation” and a total run time of roughly 40 minutes. Below we’ve also included a stream of another previously released song (also stunning) — “They Are Seven“.

The album was recorded periodically over a period of years by Andy Kite at Against the Grain Studio, and he also mastered the album. The stunning cover art was created by one of our favorites, Seeming Watcher.



 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.