Aug 032010 is a metal blog run by a dude named iRoar from Cairo, Egypt. We first came across it when we were doing research for our series about Metal From North Africa (the first installment of which you can find here). It’s a very slick site, and it’s also a doorway to metal from parts of the world that aren’t uppermost on the radar screen for yokels from Seattle like us.

But the main reason we’re telling you about Metality today is that iRoar has done an amazingly beneficent thing for metalheads worldwide. He has put together a compilation of some truly stupendous metal, apparently with the official approval of all the bands involved — and he has made it available for free download.

The occasion for this comp is the celebration of his 1000th post. And we would like to wish him a very happy 1000th birthday, with best wishes for many thousands of birthdays to come.

As for that comp he put together, it really is a global collective. It includes bands (28 of them, to be precise) from Europe, India, the U.S., South America, and the Middle East/Gulf States region.

Among the band are some we know and really dig — Nervecell (U.A.E.), Norther (Finland), Demonic Resurrection (India), Scarab (Egypt), CiLiCe (Netherlands), Empyreon (U.S.), and Mantric (Norway) — and many we discovered for the first time through this compilation.

After the jump, you can see the whole list, you can stream samples of every song, and we’ll give you a link for the free download.

METALITY – The Compilation includes the following songs:

  1. THE EMPIRE SHALL FALL – Lords of War [U.S.]
  2. FOMENTO – The Die Is Cast [Italy]
  3. NEOSIS – Unwilling Fate [Switzerland]
  4. NERVECELL – Vicious Circle Of Bloodshed [U.A.E.]
  5. NORTHER – Break Myself Away [Finland]
  6. DEMONIC RESURRECTION – The Unrelenting Surge Of Vengeance [India] Winners of “The Global Metal Award” at METAL HAMMER’s Golden Gods Award
  7. DAYLIGHT DIES – A Portrait In White [U.S.]
  8. SCARAB – War To End [Egypt]
  9. CILICE – Mental Breakdown [Netherlands]
  10. EMPYREON – Beyond Perception [U.S.]
  11. MANTRIC – Symptoms [Norway]
  12. BREEZE Of The Dying – FOA Act I [K.S.A.]
  13. DREAMSHADE – Our Buried Secrets [Switzerland]
  14. CHROMIUM – All I Have [South Africa]
  15. BENEVOLENT – Haunting Shores [Kuwait]
  16. A THOUSAND REASONS – Strength and Fight [Italy]
  17. WARTHANE – Lord Oblivion [South Africa]
  18. VOICE OF THE SOUL – Farewell To Hope [Kuwait]
  19. COAT OF ARMS – Ballad of the Mariner [U.A.E.]
  20. PAURA – Scars Of Life [Brazil]
  21. BILOCATE – Inoculate [Jordan]
  22. CRESCENT – Jerusalem [Egypt]
  23. POSTMORTEM – Whispers Of Ages [Lebanon]
  24. A SHOT OF ADRENALINE – The Human Plague [U.A.E.]
  25. DEPTH – Memento Mori [Kuwait]

There are also these 3 bonus tracks available on the “download” version of the album:

  1. KILL THE ROMANCE – Trespasser
  2. THE CROW MURDER – Doubt
  3. BLACKWELL – Deliverance

Metality has made all the songs available for individual free download at  Or you can download the entire compilation in two parts, plus a file of all the album art, at the same site (which is at this location).

This comp includes some amazingly good metal from a lot of bands that are worth discovering if you don’t know about them. We highly recommend it.

Here’s the ReverbNation widget with samples of all the songs available for streaming:

  2 Responses to “METALITY”

  1. WARTHANE – Lord Oblivion [South Africa] – correct link

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.