May 282013

Thanks to a tip from KevinP, I learned this morning that the French label Klonosphere has recently released a free sampler of music from 18 different bands. I’m an enthusiastic fan of many of the bands on this compilation, including Hacride, Klone, Lokurah, Magoa, and Otargos, all of whom we’ve written about at NCS. I’m not familiar with other bands, but the chance to discover new music is one of the reasons why samplers like this one are worth having. And just based on the music I do know, this is a really diverse collection of sounds.

Many of the songs previously appeared on recent albums or EPs, and some are being released for the first time on this sampler — including exclusive demo versions of tracks that will appear on albums projected for release later this year. One of those advance demo tracks comes from a long-running French band named Loudblast who we last visited at NCS all the way back in April 2011 (here). I liked what I heard of them then, and so I was especially interested in the chance to check what they’re up to now.

They’ve released six studio albums to date, and based on the description of this new demo track, it appears their seventh is on the way. The new song is entitled “The Abstract God”, and it’s a beefy, malicious death metal monster that stomps, rips, roars, and wails like a tormented spirit. It’s prime headbang material, so loosen up your neck muscles and stream it right after the jump.

[audio:|titles=Loudblast – The Abstract God]

Below, I’ve included the sampler’s complete track list with accompanying info about each song. I’ve also included web links, the first of which will immediately initiate a download of the sampler.

01. HACRIDE – Overcome (from the album Back To Where You’ve Never Been)
02. LOUDBLAST – The Abstract God (exclusive demo version of new song)
03. OTARGOS – Apex Terror (exclusive demo version of new song)
04. MOPA – Speak To Me (version edit ) (previously unreleased)
05. KLONE – Into The Void (from the album The Dreamer’s Hideaway)
06. 7 WEEKS – Ghosts On The Seaside Road (from the album Carnivora)
07. SCARRED – Cinder (from the album ìGaia-Medeaî)
08. DEMENTED – Listen To The Silence, feat. Ju (Benighted) (from the album Across The Nature Stillness)
09. MAGOA – Let’s Die (on saturday night), feat. Shawter (Dagoba)
10. HYPERDUMP – Fake (from the EP Syncretism)
11. CHECKMATE – Invictus (from the album Immanence)
12. LAST BARONS – Going To Varzi (version edit ) (from the album Cheval de Troie)
13. LIZZARD – The Orbiter (from the album Out Of Reach)
14. LOPSIDED – Madmartigan (from the album Holda’s-Grace)
15. LODZ – Song For Chaos (version edit ) (from the EP And Then Emptiness)
16. LOKURAH – Rewriters Of Truth (from the album The Time To Do Better)
17. ENLIGHTENED – Under The Flame (version edit ) (from the album Discover The Path)
18. THE LUMBERJACK FEEDBACK – A Whisper To The Thunder (version edit )


  1. I’ve been meaning to check out Loudblast for seemingly forever. I should probably do so.

    Now Otargos… Otargos are pure evil. Absolutely love them.

  2. I’d almost forgotten about Noein, who are also on Klonosphere. I remember thinking their songs were stupid good, but forgot about it because it was a pre-order and low to no availability in the states. Looks like it’s on iTunes. Not my favorite music outlet, but screw it, I might as well buy 7 albums today instead of 6.

    Thanks for the reminder! My wallet hates you.

  3. i admit i’m only really familiar with Hacride, but that’s all the more reason to grab this sampler 🙂

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.