Jun 142016

Rotting Christ video clip


When our man DGR reviewed Rotting Christ’s new album Rituals in February, he made some observations that came back to mind today. He remarked that Rituals “feels more like an event than a collection of singles”, that “the songs feel perfectly placed,” with “more dramatic interstitial sections slotting in well next to faster songs”, earning the name given to the album. He also commented on the intensely rhythmic nature of much of the music, underscoring the thematic union of the album’s ten tracks as musical representations of rites from around the globe that share a certain spiritual essence.

A personal favorite among those “interstitial” sections is the powerful “Ἄπαγε Σατανά (Apage Satana)”, and today we bring you the premiere of Rotting Christ’s mesmerizing video for the song.


Rotting Christ-Rituals


The video was directed and produced by Jon Simvonis for Magnum Production Studios, with cinematography by Christina Moumouri. It beautifully captures the dark mystery of the song, as well as the sense of ceremonial invocation represented by the song’s booming drum beats, its chants and shrieks, and the swelling, symphonic power of the music.

A body is consigned to the flames, a doorway is opened, the tangible world shimmers and fades….

The band commented as follows about the video:

“”Dear friends, following a string of lyric videos specifically designed to illustrate tracks taken from Rituals, we are now presenting you the first official clip for our latest album. We chose to work again with the amazing Jon Simvonis, who already directed our video for the song ‘Χ Ξ Σ’ (‘666’). The concept for this new video is based on the ritual of exorcism and connected to the idea of a soul’s transition to the other side. We sincerely hope that you will enjoy the journey to the other bank of the river with ‘Apage Satana‘!”

If you still haven’t explored the musical mastery of Rituals, you can (and should) do that here. The album is available across CD and LP formats HERE.


Track list:
1. In Nomine Dei Nostri
2. זה נגמר (Ze Nigmar)
3. Ἐλθὲ Κύριε (Elthe Kyrie)
4. Les Litanies De Satan (Les Fleurs Du Mal)
5. Ἄπαγε Σατανά (Apage Satana)
6. Του Θάνατου (Tou Thanatou)
7. For A Voice Like Thunder
8. Konx Om Pax
9. देवदेवं (Devadevam)
10. The Four Horsemen



  1. Damn, I need to revisit this album again.

    • I truly love it. It seems to have gotten mixed reactions from a lot of critics and listeners, but I admire not only RC’s continuing musical evolution but also the creative conception and execution of this album. It merits its name.

  2. Nice. It’s good to see they’re not afraid to play around with the music, adapt a few parts here and there, so that it suits the video. I often feel like videos are just visual fodder to fill a youtube clip for a song; the ones that really take the approach of using the video as an artform itself are an all too rare treat


 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.