Jun 162016

Baptism-V-The Devils Fire


Four years after As the Darkness Enters, Finland’s Baptism comes roaring back with its fifth full-length assault. Entitled V: The Devil’s Fire, the new work features eight hellish sacraments and is scheduled for release on July 22 by Baptism’s new label partner Season of Mist. Today we bring you the premiere of the album’s title track: “Devil’s Fire“.

On this new album, Baptism’s central force Lord Sargofagian and his four bandmates for this release are joined by three prominent guests (and long-time friends) who have made their own indelible marks on the landscape of Finnish metal:

Antti Boman (DEMILICH) on “Buried With Him”
Mikko Kotamäki (SWALLOW THE SUN) on “The Sacrament Of Blood And Ash”
Mynni Luukkainen (HORNA) on “Satananda”


Baptism 2016-photo by Roni Sahari
photo by Roni Sahari

The song you’re about to hear merits the term “anthemic”. It also fully merits perhaps over-used adjectives like “grim”, “bleak”, and “savage”. The song heaves and pulses with deep, resonating strength, with panoramic waves of dark melody that roil and rush like storm clouds — and rocking rhythms that will get heads moving.

The song’s surging intensity is bolstered by a deep, thrumming bass lines and gripping drum work, as well as the ferocity of Lord S.’s serrated vocal tirades and a striking guitar solo that’s worth waiting for all by itself.

But for this listener, what makes the song truly stand out is the dark majesty and melancholy emotional sweep of the song’s central melody — it has pulled me back to this devilish fire repeatedly. Hope you enjoy this memorable piece as much as I have. And to give you a further taste of this gripping new album, I’m also including the lyric video for one more song stream below from a previous premiere (“The Sacrament of Blood and Ash”).

To pre-order the album on CD, multi-colored vinyl, and cassette tape, visit this location:


Here’s the album’s track list and the line-up:

1. Natus Ex Ignis
2. Satananda
3. The Sacrament Of Blood & Ash
4. Devil’s fire
5. Abyss
6. Cold Eternity
7. Malignant Shadows
8. Buried With Him

Lord S.: vocals, guitar, songwriting
SG.7: guitar
TG: lead guitar
Syphon: bass
LRH: drums







  1. Liked the two songs. Will need to pick this album once it’s released

  2. Definitely liking what I’m hearing from these advance tracks – can’t wait to hear more.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.