Apr 122018


Roughly two years ago we had the pleasure of premiering a track from the second album by Demonic Obedience, Nocturnal Hymns To the Fallen. That was our own introduction to the band’s music, and it was a hell of a savage greeting. Now, Demonic Obedience are returning with a new album, and we again find ourselves in the fortunate position of delivering another premiere. The name of the new album is Fatalistic Uprisal Of Abhorrent Creation, and the track we have for you in advance of its April 17 release by Satanath Records and Sevared Records is “Awakening“.

Demonic Obedience has led something of a nomadic existence. Originally spawned in Greece by George Ntavelas and George Seremetis in early 2013 under the name of The Deepest, it then continued as the solo project of George Ntavelas after his move to Edinburgh, Scotland. On this new album, Ntavelas is the guitarist, but he was also joined in the recording by two new members of the band, Kruxator (vocals) and Mark Stormwhipper (bass).



From the earliest days, the band’s music has also evolved, eventually drawing strength from both old-school death metal and black metal traditions, and inspiration from such progenitors as Immolation, Incantation, and Dead Congregation.

Awakening” is a fine example of where the journeys of Demonic Obedience have taken them. At its core, it’s a hellishly ravenous and brutally cold-blooded assault, yet it’s also vibrantly dynamic and multi-textured.

From its gruesome, doom-laden opening, which unfolds slowly through a mix of dismal, moaning guitars and deep crocodilian growls, it then surges into a destructive, rampaging attack as the guitar begins to vibrate in a grim feeding frenzy and the rhythms hammer convulsively. And the music continues to change from there, delivering frequent variations in pacing, with darting, leaping, and seething fretwork interlaced with grim, pile-driving grooves, queasy melodic accents, banshee shrieks,  flame-throwing solos, and eruptions of berserker chaos. Even after the song ends, it remains as a nightmarish haunting in the listeners’ heads.


We hope you enjoy this inventive monstrosity as much as we have. And if you would like to explore further, we’ve also included a previously released track named “Conjuration“, which is a free download at Bandcamp. You’ll also find the track list and pre-order links below.

01. Conjuration
02. Inception
03. Awakening
04. Outbreak
05. Decampment
06. Act 6(66)
07. Annihilation
08. Scythe Bearer
Length – 33:16


Demonic Obedience:




 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.